We've all experienced it.  That person who's cruising down I-20 in the left lane--going 65 mph in a 75 mph zone.  Cars are stacked up on their tail, and the driver seems to be totally oblivious to the pile-up they're causing.  And why are they driving in the left lane?  It's not like the road's any better over there; it's Louisiana for cryin' out loud!

Well, not only is this annoying--it's illegal.  Louisiana state law clearly states that on all multi-lane highways, you cannot drive in the left-hand land except under the following conditions:

  • When you're getting ready to make a left turn at an intersection, private road, or driveway.
  • When you're overtaking or passing another vehicle going in your same direction.
  • When right-hand lanes are congested.
  • When emergency vehicles are parked on or near the right shoulder with their emergency lights activated.
  • When otherwise directed by law enforcement.

The law goes even further:

  • You can't drive in the left lane if you're impeding another vehicle that's going in the same direction.
  • You can't drive in the left lane at a slower speed than vehicles in the right lane.
  • If you are driving slower than the normal speed of traffic you must drive in the right-hand lane.

If you're ticketed for this offense, you can be fined up to $100, given 30 days jail time, or both.

Bottom line is, the immortal words of Ludacris should be invoked every time you see someone breaking this law--"Move *&%$@!, get out da way!"