Jake E. Lee, best known as the guitarist for Ozzy Osbourne (Bark at the Moon, The Ultimate Sin) and Badlands, has been keeping a low profile for over two decades now.  He's popped up on tribute albums (Queen, AC/DC, Rush, Van Halen, Randy Rhoads, and Metallica), and performed as a guest guitarist on a few albums, but for the most part, has spent most of the 90's and new millenium A.W.O.L.

Well, Jake is back, and he has a new band called Red Dragon Cartel.  Featuring vocalist DJ Smith, bassist Ronnie Mancuso and drummer Jonas Fairley, the band was formed when  Mancuso asked Lee to appear in a video for his band Beggars And Thieves - and something clicked.

According to Mancuso,

It’s not like we stopped listening to music for two decades.  Modern influences certainly pop up. But there are inimitable elements to Jake’s playing – you know it’s him. It’s modern without trying to be modern.

Look for some familiar names to pop up on the album, due on January 27th.  Lee and company have enlisted some friends to help out on the project: Paul Di’Anno (Iron Maiden's original singer), Rex Brown (Kill Devil Hill, Pantera), Todd Kearns and Brent Fitz (Slash), Scott Reeder (Kyuss), Maria Brink (In This Moment), Jeremy Spencer (Five Finger Death Punch), Tom Petersson (Cheap Trick) and Sass Jordan (SUN).

The first single, 'Feeder', features the vocals of Cheap Trick's Robin Zander.  Check it out here:

The track listing for Red Dragon Cartel is:

1. Deceived
2. Shout It Out
3. Feeder with Robin Zander
4. Fall From The Sky (Seagull)
5. Wasted with Paul Di’Anno
6. Slave
7. Big Mouth with Maria Brink
8. War Machine
9. Redeem Me with Sass Jordan
10. Exquisite Tenderness

Look for Red Dragon Cartel to hit the road on an extended tour before the end of the year.