Highway 98.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

In previous years, the state of Louisiana was divided into three separate areas in regards to duck hunting. While bag limits remained alike in all of these areas, season dates were much different.

However, beginning this year and extending through 2025, Louisiana will only be divided into two separate zones. The West Zone (in which we are included) and the East Zone. Gone are the former days of the third "Coastal Zone."

Here's how the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries will divide the state into these areas. The West Zone is described as: That portion of the state between the Texas state line and the line going south on Louisiana 79 from the Arkansas border to Homer, then south on Louisiana 9 to Arcadia, then south on Louisiana 147 to Hodge, then south on U.S. 167 to Lafayette, then south and east on U.S. 90 to the Mississippi state line.

Obviously, the East Zone will encompass the remainder of the state. Here's the map that the LDWF shows of the zones.


Another change that duck hunters in the West Zone will have to adjust to this year, is going from only one "split" to "two splits." These are the specified dates in which duck hunting is closed during the season.

The dates for the 2021-22 Louisiana Duck Season are as follows:

West Zone

  • Youth and veterans only: November 6-7
  • Regular season: November 13 - December 5
  • December 18 - January 2, 2022
  • January 10 - 30, 2022

East Zone

  • Youth and veterans only: November 13 and February 5
  • Regular season: November 20 - December 5
  • December 18 - January 30, 2022


The Most Interesting Insects Found in Louisiana

Read More: Why Does It Only Hail in Summer? And Other Weird Weather Facts

More From Highway 98.9